top of page

Assassins at Chichester Festival Theatre

Public bookings open at 9:00 am on Saturday 4 March for the new production of Assassins at the Chichester Festival Theatre - a final hurrah from Artistic Director and Sondheim proponent Daniel Evans. The show previews from 3 June and opens on 9 June, running until 24 June.

From CFT:

A surreal carnival. And a group of people who have one thing in common: they want to assassinate the President of the United States. Some succeed, some fail. But there’s a prize for them all: a place in the history books.

John Wilkes Booth. Lee Harvey Oswald. Leon Czolgosz. Lynette "Squeaky" Fromme. John Hinckley. Charles Guiteau. Sara Jane Moore. Giuseppe Zangara. Samuel Byck. Men and women whose fervour took them to the very edge.

Stephen Sondheim and John Weidman’s Tony Award-winning biting musical comedy takes us on a daring, time-bending journey through American history.

Sondheim was a giant of musical theatre, celebrated for his inventive sophistication. His landmark works also include Company, Follies and Sweeney Todd. Weidman’s work includes two further collaborations with Sondheim, Road Show and Pacific Overtures.

Director Polly Findlay’s recent productions include White Noise and A Number (Bridge Theatre), and Beginning and Middle (National Theatre).

The cast includes Amy Booth-Steel (Tammy Faye, The Magician’s Elephant) as Moore, Luke Brady (The Prince of Egypt, Sweeney Todd Festival 2011) as Zangara, Carly Mercedes Dyer (Olivier Award nominee and WhatsOnStage Award winner for Anything Goes) as Fromme, Harry Hepple (Hamilton,Follies) as Guiteau, Nick Holder (The Threepenny Opera, London Road) as Byck, Danny Mac (Sunset Boulevard, Pretty Woman The Musical) as Booth, Sam Oladeinde (Come From Away, A Christmas Carol) as Czolgosz and Jack Shalloo (Girl From The North Country, Groundhog Day) as Hinckley.

Polly Findlay: Director

Lizzie Clachan: Designer

Neil Bettles: Choreographer

Richard John: Musical Superviser

Jo Cichonska: Musical Director

Richard Howell: Lighting Designer

Gregory Clarke: Sound Designer

Akhila Krishnan: Video Designer

Kate Waters: Fight Director

Charlotte Sutton CDG: Casting Director

Christopher Worrall: Casting Director

For more information, and to access the booking page, visit


Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page